E3 2009: Top 5 games that I am most excited about.

1. Brutal Legend
2. Lost Planet 2
3. Allan Wake
4. Assassins Creed 2
5. Modern Warfare 2

Honorable mentions: Golden Sun DS, Splinter Cell: Conviction

With E3 over, we are left with plenty of games to look forward to in the latter part of this year and early 2010, the five games listed above are the games that I am looking forward to the most from those shown off at the show.

The game at the bottom of my list is Modern Warfare 2, the direct followup to the amazingly popular COD 4. I have been a fan of the Call of Duty series since the original PC game and ever since I have eagerly awaited each coming sequel. Whilst I am sure that this game will be great, I am not at a maximum excitement level as I feel I am suffering from COD fatigue. I can’t be the only one who doesn’t feel like they need a new installment in the franchise every year!
Fatigue aside, the live demo at Microsoft’s press conference showed off some gorgeous visuals and some action packed gameplay which is a good enough reason as any to keep of on everyone’s radar.

The next game on my list is Assassins Creed 2, the follow up the sci-fi themed stealth action game from 2007. This time around the crusades themed setting has been ditched in favor of renaissance Italy. This games was demonstrated at Sony’s press conference and the visuals looked nothing sort of amazing. With the promised enhancements in gameplay, Ubisoft seem to have a sure fire hit on their hands.

In third place on my list is the elusive Allan Wake. This game is being developed by the guys behind the Max Payne series and was announced way back before the launch of the xbox 360. Since the announcement, very little has been seen of this third person horror/adventure game until now. Microsoft had a live play through during their press conference and the game looked great. Displaying some amazing lighting effects, physics and visuals, the game has piqued my interest once more after it has all but fallen off my radar.

In second place is yet another sequel, this time to 2006 title Lost Planet. The original game was great, but passed me by initially, I was probably still too addicted to Oblivion to care. I had picked it up when it was dirt cheap in one of steams weekend deals and had it sitting on my hard drive ever since. The demonstrations of this game showed that the first games icey climate has been substituted for lush jungle environments and now includes 4 player co-op where you fight together to take down massive akrid beasts, from both the outside and inside. The game looks visually stunning, and after actually going back and playing the original in anticipation of this release I can’t wait to get my hands on it.

The top spot in my list goes to Brutal Legend, the latest game from critics darling Tim Schafer, the mind behind the excellent Psyconauts and Grim Fandango, featuring Jack Black. The game is set in a heavy metal universe where you play a roadey, Jack Black, who must bring peace to the world with the power of rock! The game promises all of the creativity and hilarious humour that have made Schafers previous games stand out from the crowd, and hopefully this could be his first game to sell a decent amount of copies!

~ by rusted3572 on June 7, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
